Gymnasts Honored Sunday For Their 2008 Accomplishments

San JoseFamily and friends of the San Jose State women’s gymnastics program gathered late Sunday morning to celebrate the accomplishments of the 2008 team.

This year’s team was just the third in school history to advance to the NCAA West Regional. The team finished second at the Western Athletic Conference Championships, missing first by two-tenths of a point. The Spartans posted its second-highest team total with a 195.325 against Southern Utah in a home victory in February. In that meet, San Jose State set the school record on vault with a 49.025.

Veronica Porte was named the Most Valuable Gymnast, while Emily Stebbins was named the Most Outstanding Gymnast at the banquet. Leah Bigelow and Kelli Fournier were honored as Dean’s Scholars, while Shanice Howard was honored for her 4.0 grade point average. Bigelow was also honored for receiving the Associate Students 55 Award in late April.

Below is a list of all of the awards handed out at the banquet.

Academic Excellence Shanice Howard
Team Spirit Jymmie Pierce
Most Improved Katelyn Van Eck
Most Inspirational Emily Stebbins
Leadership Award Michelle Minotti
Most Outstanding Emily Stebbins
Most Valuable Veronica Porte

2007-08 WAC All-Academice Leah Bigelow, Alise Blackwell, Kelli Fournier, Casey Jay, Jessica Khoshnood, Tiffany Louie, Michelle Minotti, Gabrielle Targosz.

Academic Honor Roll Shanice Howard, Katie Merritt, Jymmie Pierce, Emily Stebbins, Katelyn Van Eck.

Dean’s Scholar (3.5 gpa or higher) Leah Bigelow, Kelli Fournier.

A.S. 55 Award Winner Leah Bigelow.

Letterwinners Leah Bigelow, Alise Blackwell, Raylyn Cardeno, Kelli Fournier, Shanice Howard, Casey Jay, Jessica Khoshnood, Tiffany Louie, Katie Merritt, Michelle Minotti, Renae Moneymaker, Veronica Porte, Lily Swann, Emily Stebbins, Gabrielle Targosz.

Participation Awards Shina Cardeno, Greta Leach, Jymmie Pierce, Katelyn Van Eck.

2008-09 Captains Alise Blackwell, Jessica Khoshnood, Veronica Porte.