Women's Gymnasts Competes At Masters Classic Hosted By Nebraska

Allison Bellingham and the beam team look to get the Spartans started with a strong score at Sunday's meet.
Feb. 27, 2015



The San José State women’s gymnastics team goes back on the road this weekend as the team competes at the 25th annual Masters Classic hosted by the University of Nebraska.  The Spartans will face the #8 Huskers and #16 Illinois at the Devaney Center in Lincoln, Neb. 

The meet begins at 2 p.m. CST/12 p.m. PST and will have live video and live scoring streams available on Huskers.com. 

Rotation Order for Masters Classic

Rotation Nebraska Illinois San José State
1 Vault Bars Beam
2 Bars Beam Floor
3 Beam Floor Vault
4 Floor Vault Bars

 The Spartans enter Sunday’s meet on a winning streak after defeating Sacramento State on February 13 (195.125-192.850) and UC Davis on February 20 (194.525-192.525).  Against the Aggies, Cami Guyer won the beam with a 9.775 and the all-around at 39.175.  Two Spartans were honored for their efforts at the meet – Guyer as the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Gymnast of the Week, and Kaitlin Won as the MPSF Newcomer of the Week.  Won was second in the all-around at 38.850

The Masters Classic marks the first time the Spartans have competed against the Huskers or Fighting Illini outside of regional competition in over six years.  The Spartans competed against Nebraska at the 2012 Salt Lake Regional (L, 196.525-193.400) and the 2011 Corvallis Regional (L, 196.550-194.425).  San Jose State competed against Illinois last April at the 2014 Minneapolis Regional (L, 196.600-193.950) and at the 2009 Seattle Regional (L, 196.700-194.800).

The Spartans will go with a lineup that has very few changes from the beginning of the season.  Maddie Herr does return to the lineup after missing the UC Davis meet due to illness.

San José State Tentative Lineup (as of 2/27)

Vault Bars Beam Floor
Hannah Gilbert Alyssa Kaschak Kaitlin Won Kiley Field
Alyssa Montalban Marissa Unpingco Marissa Unpingco Mackenzie Douglas
Kaitlin Won Kaitlin Won Allison Bellingham Kaitlin Won
Maddie Herr Rachel Heinl Gabrielle Kambur Alyssa Montalban
Rachel Heinl Maddie Herr Cami Guyer Maddie Herr
Cami Guyer Cami Guyer Maddie Herr Cami Guyer

SCHEDULE NOTE – Please note that the final home meet of the season was moved to Sunday, March 8, at 2 p.m., at The Event Center.  Teams competing that day include the Spartans, Utah State, Sacramento State and Seattle Pacific.