Women's Gymnastics Travels To Lone Star State For Sunday Meet

Jan. 29, 2015


The San José State University women's gymnastics team goes to the Lone Star State this Sunday, February 1, for a quadrangular meet at Texas Woman's University in Denton, Texas, beginning at 1 p.m. CST/11 a.m. PST.

The Spartans will compete against Centenary, Towson and the host Pioneers in Kitty Magee Arena.  Live scoring and live video are available on the Spartan women's gymnastics schedule page on www.sjsuspartans.com.  The video will focus mainly on the Pioneers, but other gymnasts will be shown during the broadcast.

After a 194.200 this past Sunday at the California quadrangular, the Spartans look to keep the good scores coming.  The team has scored a 194.000 or better in three of the four meets this year including a season-best 194.750 against California and UW-La Crosse on January 16.

Maddie Herr led the Spartans at the California quadrangular, finishing third in the all-around with a season-best 39.175 and tied for first on bars with a 9.825.  She was also third on beam with a 9.800.  Herr was honored for her efforts by being named the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Gymnast of the Week.

This meet is designated as TWU's "Think Pink" meet to help raise awareness and funds breast cancer research. 

The Spartans continue the stretch of meets on the road next Friday, February 6, with a meet at Southern Utah.  That meet will begin at 7 p.m. MST/6 p.m. PST.