Three Former Spartans To Play In Inaugural U.S. Senior Women’s Open This Weekend

July 11, 2018

San Jose, Calif.—Three former San José State University women’s golfers, Dana Dormann, Juli Inkster and Amy Ellertson, will be playing this weekend as part of the Inaugural U.S. Senior Women’s Open Championship at the Chicago Golf Club in Wheaton, Ill.


The former Spartans are three of the 120 players in the field. The championship is open to any profession or amateur golfer who is 50 years of age as of July 12, and has a Handicap Index not exceeding 7.4. Dormann qualified after winning the sectional in San Francisco, while Ellertson tied for second at the Springfield, Va., sectional.

The par-73 course will play at 6,082 yards. The field will play 18 holes on July 12 and 13. After 36 holes, the field will be cut to the 50 lowest scorers and anyone tying for 50th place for rounds on July 14 and 15.

FS1 will have live coverage of the championship on Saturday and Sunday, July 14 and 15, from 1 to 3 p.m. PT.

Tee Times for the Spartans

Thursday

7:11 a.m. CT/5:11 a.m. PT – Hole 10 – Amy Ellertson, Susie Redman, Suzanne Strudwick

7:55 a.m. CT/5:55 a.m. PT – Hole 1 – Juli Inkster, Liselotte Neumann, Laura Davies


 

 

12:12 p.m. CT/10:12 a.m. PT – Hole 1 – Dana Dormann, Cindy Rarick, Suzy Whaley

Friday

7:11 a.m. CT/5:11 a.m. PT – Hole 10 – Dana Dormann, Cindy Rarick, Suzy Whaley

12:21 p.m. CT/10:21 a.m. PT – Hole 1 – Amy Ellertson, Susie Redman, Suzanne Strudwick

1:05 p.m. CT/11:05 a.m. PT – Hole 10 – Juli Inkster, Liselotte Neumann, Laura Davies


Coach Dormann will be checking in from the championship with updates. Here are her thoughts from Tuesday.

--

Blog from Dana Dormann

What a wonderful celebration of women’s golf we had last night at the Chicago Golf Club! The Inaugural Senior Women’s Open has been a long time coming (38 years after the first Senior Men’s Open).

I am grateful many of the LPGA greats are here to enjoy the week. Joanne Carner, 79, is the oldest in the field and will hit the first tee shot on Thursday. Pat Bradley, Sandra Palmer, Jane Blalock and so many more of the women who have lobbied the USGA to make this Championship a reality celebrated last night, as they should.

“Big Mamma” Joanne gave a speech like only she could give and the crowd gave her multiple standing ovations. Charlie Mecham, our former LPGA Commissioner and all around great guy, told stories that everyone loved. We celebrated the start of a new national championship, and it was a glorious night.

--

Former Spartans In the Field

Dana Dormann

Will assume head coaching position at San José State starting August 1, after serving as the associate head coach for the past 13+ years.

Earned medalist honors by shooting a three-under 68 on the par-71 Ocean Course at the Olympic Club to qualify for the U.S. Senior Women’s Open. She was the only player under par at the qualifier.

Has played in 14 U.S. Women’s Open Championships

Played 10 years on the LPGA tour, winning the 1992 Las Vegas LPGA International and the 1993 McCall’s LPGA Classic

Three-time All-American for the Spartans from 1985-88

Member of the 1987 NCAA Championship team and the 1987 PCAA Player of the Year

Assistant coach for the 1989 NCAA Championship team

Member of the Golf Coaches Association of America and the San José State Sports Halls of Fame

1985 U.S. Junior champion

Juli Inkster

San José State Sports Hall of Fame Legend

Unique distinction as the only golfer to play for a U.S. Solheim Cup team and serve as an assistant captain (2011) and captain (2015, 2017, 2019).

Played in nine Solheim Cups, won 18.5 points for the U.S.

Women’s Golf Hall of Fame member

Three-time All-American at San José State

Won a school-record 17 tournaments as a Spartan

Amy Ellertson

Played at San José State for the 1981-82 and 1982-83 seasons

Won the West Coast Intercollegiate at Stanford in 1982

Junior college transfer from Scottsdale College

Currently managing director – investments at Wells Fargo Advisors where she handles $450 million in assets

Graduated from San José State with a bachelor of business administration, marketing/finance