Cristina Corpus Named Women's Golf Player of the Year

            Cristina Corpus, who won two tournaments and finished in the top-20 four other times in 12 events, was named the Player of the Year for the 2009-10 San Jose State University women's golf team at its annual awards banquet on May 28.

            Corpus won the Fresno State Lexus Classic and the Juli Inkster Spartan Invitational in an eight-day span during the spring season. She was named a first-team All-Western Athletic Conference player for the second season in a row, led the Spartans in stroke average at 74.53 for 36 rounds played and was the team's top finisher at the NCAA Championships.  The senior from San Leandro, Calif., finished the season ranked 102nd nationally by GolfStat.

            Madeleine Ziegert received the award for Top Performance of the Year. The sophomore from Halmstad, Sweden led the San Jose State charge back to the NCAA Championships by earning co-medalist honors at the NCAA Regional Championships hosted by Stanford. Ziegert grabbed the Regional Championship lead from the start and never trailed at the end of any of the three rounds of competition. She finished the season ranked 175th nationally by GolfStat.

            Shraddhanjali Singh, a senior from India, was named the team's Scholar-Athlete Award winner. Singh, a business major, was a second-team All-Western Athletic Conference selection and is line to receive All-American Scholar recognition from the National Golf Coaches Association.

            "We had a wonderful banquet. Family and friends attended from around the world to make it a very special evening. We had much to celebrate with our team and individual success this year." This group will long be remembered by (assistant coach) Dana (Dormann) and me," said head coach John Dormann, whose team tied for 23rd place at the 2010 NCAA Championships.