Women's Golfers Honored For Accomplishments

May 21, 2015

The 2014-15 San José State University women's golf team handed out awards this past Tuesday at the team's end-of-the-year banquet.

Megan Osland received the Player of the Year Award and the Scholar Athlete Award. She recorded the sixth-best scoring average in a season at 73.52 this year and was recognized with first team All-Mountain West honors. Osland won two collegiate tournaments during the season -- Wyoming Cowgirl Desert Intercollegiate and Juli Inkster Spartan Invitational. She finished in the top-10 in six of her 11 tournaments played and led the team to a third-place finish at the 2015 MW Championship. For her work in the classroom, Osland was named a Dean's Scholar this past April and is an SJSU Scholar Athlete.

Elizabeth Schultz was named the Freshman of the Year. In her first season with the Spartans, she had a 75.83 stroke averaged and finished second at the Wyoming Cowgirl Desert Intercollegiate. Her low round of the year was a 69 at the Stanford Intercollegiate, and she finished in the top-20 three times.

The three All-Mountain West honorees also received their awards at the banquet. Osland was a first-team selection, while Regan De Guzman and My Leander were each selected to the second team. De Guzman finished the year with a 74.39 stroke average, the 19th-best in school history, while Leader was at 74.71, the 26th-best in school history.