Women's Golf Names Award Winners For Successful 2008-09 Season

The 2008-09 San Jose State women’s golf team recently presented its team awards to various student-athletes. The Western Athletic Conference Champions won five tournaments this year and played at the NCAA West Regional.

Erica Moston received the team’s Top Performer Award after winning the WAC Individual Championship and being named the 2009 WAC Player of the Year. She led the team in stroke average at 72.07 and had 15 rounds under par and five rounds of par golf this season. Moston won the MountainView Collegiate and Ryder Canes & Cardinal Classic titles.

Madeleine Ziegert was named the Freshman of the Year. She played in 22 rounds for the Spartans and ended the year with a 75.63 stroke average. Ziegert was also a second team All-WAC selection.

Katrina Delen-Briones was honored with the Most Improved Award. She finished the year with a 74.39 stroke average, an improvement of over two strokes from her freshman year average of 76.62. Delen-Briones was named a first team All-WAC honoree and tied for fifth at the WAC Championships with teammate Cristina Corpus.

Shraddhanjali Singh received the Scholar Athlete Award. She is a business management major and played in 26 rounds this season. Singh had a 76.54 stroke average with two rounds under par and four par rounds this year.

The WAC Champions are getting ready for one more important appearance this school year as the team will be having lunch with San Jose State President Jon Whitmore this Thursday afternoon.