Women's Golfers Honored At Year-End Banquet

May 11, 2018

The 2017-18 San José State University women’s golf team handed out awards on Friday at the team’s annual banquet.

Abegail Arevalo received the Player of the Year Award.  She was an individual qualifier at the NCAA San Francisco Regional where she tied for 27th at two-over 218. Arevalo led the team with a 73.65 stroke average in 29 round played. She won her first collegiate tournament by shooting a three-under 213 at the MountainView Collegiate in March and helped the team to a second-place finish.

Alexandra Cooper was named the team’s Scholar Athlete.  She is a San José State Dean’s Scholar and Academic All-Mountain West honoree as a kinesiology major. This season, Cooper had a 74.39 stroke average in 23 rounds played and finished fourth at the MountainView Collegiate. She shot a 69 four times during the year.

Senior Elizabeth Schultz was also honored for her dedication and Spartan Spirit to the women’s golf program. Schultz played in every tournament in her four years, 115 round total, and had a 75.82 stroke average. She finished second in two tournaments during her career – 2014 Wyoming Cowgirl Desert Intercollegiate and the 2015 Ptarmigan Ram Fall Classic.