Women's Golf Plays At NCAA Columbus Regional To Start Week

May 7, 2017

Complete Regional Release Get Acrobat Reader

NOTE - Tee times for Monday have been moved back to at least 9 a.m. Eastern/6 a.m Pacific due to anticipated frost condidtions.

This Week:

Mon.-Wed., May 8-10 NCAA Columbus Regional Columbus, Ohio

The Ohio State Golf Club, Scarlet Course

Live scoring - http://results.golfstat.com/public/leaderboards/gsnav.cfm?pg=team&tid=13220

Tournament Central - http://www.ohiostatebuckeyes.com/sports/w-golf/spec-rel/ncaa-regional-2017.html

Tickets - Admission to the three days are free.


The San José State women's golf team is making its 23rd appearance at an NCAA Regional as the team travels to Columbus, Ohio, for the NCAA Columbus Regional hosted by The Ohio State University, May 8-10. The 18 teams will play three rounds on the Scarlet Course at The Ohio State Golf Club. The par-72 course will play at 6,416/6,349 yards. The top-six teams and top-three individuals (not on an advancing team) after the third round advance to the national championships, May 19-24, at the Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill.

Teams competing at the regional include (in seeded order):

1. Florida 10. San José State
2. Floridao State 11. Houston
3. South Carolina 12. Louisville
4. Arkansas 13. Wisconsin
5. Colorado 14. Kentucky
6. Texas A&M 15. Old Dominion
7. Purdue 16. Delaware
8. Ohio State 17. Missouri State
9. Michigan 18. Cleveland State

Participating Individuals:

1. Loy Hee Ying (East Tennessee State) 4. Emma Albrecht (Notre Dame)

2. Camila Serrano (Florida International) 5. Kate Smith (Nebraska)

3. Michaela Fletcher (Memphis) 6. Emie Peronnin (Minnesota)

LIVE SCORING: Live scoring for all three rounds of the NCAA

Columbus Regional are available online at http://results.golfstat.com/public/leaderboards/gsnav.cfm?pg=team&tid=13220.

FACEBOOK/TWITTER: Follow the Spartan women's golf team and all San José State athletics teams on the web. Join the official SJSU Spartans page and like the San José State Women's Golf page on Facebook /SJSUWomen'sGolf and read the latest tweets on Twitter @SJSUAthletics.

TEE TIMES: Tee times for the first day of the NCAA Columbus Regional are determined by seeding. San José State enters the regional as the #10 seed, so the team will start Monday off the 10th tee at 7:30 a.m. EDT/4:30 a.m. PDT with Houston and Louisville. Tee times for Tuesday and Wednesday will be determined by Monday's results.

SPARTAN LINEUP: San José State will travel the same lineup that has played in all 10 tournaments - My Leander, Abegail Arevalo, Franziska Friedrich, Alexandra Cooper and Elizabeth Schultz.

SAN JOSE STATE AT REGIONALS: The Spartans are making their 23rd appearance at an NCAA Regional and only the third appearance in a regional in the Eastern Time Zone (2001, 2015, 2017). San José State has won at least a share of two regional titles - 1994 & 1995.

Individually, Madeleine Ziegert is the only Spartan to ever win a regional title. She was the co-medalist at the 2010 West Regional held at the Stanford Golf Course.

SPARTANS LIKE SCARLET: San José State has played three times in the postseason on the Scarlet Course at The Ohio State Golf Club. The team played at the National Championships in 1986 (6th place), 1991 (2nd place), and 1997 (2nd place).

The 1991 team finished tied for first with UCLA after four rounds but lost in a one-hole playoff to the Bruins. The Spartan team featured LPGA players Pat Hurst and Tracy Hanson, Nicole Horner, Lisa Walton and Ninni Sterner.

The 1997 team lost by two shots to Arizona State. Former Spartan and LPGA player Janice Moodie finished second at the 1997 Championship.

SPARTAN COACHING STAFF: Head coach John Dormann is in his 12th year at the helm of the women's program and his19th season affiliated with the San José State golf programs. Dormann was the assistant for both the men's and women's teams from October 1998 through 2005, and was named the women's head coach in April 2005. Last week, his conference peers selected him as the 2016-17 Mountain West Coach of the Year. He has received Coach of the Year honors four times.

San José State Hall of Fame member Dana (Lofland) Dormann serves as the associate head coach for the program. She is a three-time All-American and a member of San José State's first national championship.

2016-17 MOUNTAIN WEST HONORS: San José State women's golfer My Leander was named the 2016-17 MW Women's Golfer of the Year, Spartan head coach John Dormann the 2016-17 MW Women's Golf Coach of the Year and Abegail Arevalo received second team All-MW honors for the 2016-17 season.

Leander also was named a first team All-MW honoree for the second consecutive year. Nationally, she is ranked 23rd on Golfstat and 21st on Golfweek. She leads the conference with a 70.89 stroke average, the best in school history. Leander won the Ptarmigan Ram Classic and the Meadow Club Intercollegiate, finished in the top-10 in eight of her 10 tournaments played this season and has shot 16 of her 27 rounds under par. She was honored as MW Women's Golfer of the Week three times this season and was the September Golfer of the Month.

Dormann received his fourth Coach of the Year recognition after receiving the honor in 2006, 2009 and 2012 (co-coach) when San José State was a member of the Western Athletic Conference. In his 19th year at San José State, Dormann has coached this year's Spartans to a #37 ranking in Golfstat and a #34 ranking in Golfweek.  The team started the year by winning the Ptarmigan Ram Classic, won The Gold Rush to end February and finished third at last week's MW Championship. He will lead the Spartans to the program's 23rd appearance at an NCAA Regional when the team plays at the NCAA Columbus Regional May 8-10.

Arevalo was voted to the second team All-MW, her first all-conference honor of her career. She has a 73.93 stroke average and finished third at the 2017 MW Championship where she tied her career best with a four-under 68 in the final round. Arevalo has shot three rounds under par and five rounds of par over her 27 rounds this year.

Leander and Dormann are the first Spartans to receive MW Women's Golf Player and Coach of the Year honors since San José State joined the conference for the 2013-14 school year.

Mountain West Honors

First Team

Sirene Blair, Sr., San Diego State

Georgia Lacey, Jr., San Diego State

My Leander, Sr., San José State

Alexandra Kaui, Sr., UNLV

Mackenzie Raim, Jr., UNLV

Second Team

Katrina Prendergast, So., Colorado State

Gudrun Bjorgvinsdottir, Sr., Fresno State

Fernanda Escauriza, Fr., San Diego State

Abegail Arevalo, So., San José State

Elizabeth Prior, So., UNLV

Golfer of the Year: My Leander, Sr., San José State

Freshman of the Year: Fernanda Escauriza, San Diego State

Coach of the Year: John Dormann, San José State

SPARTANS SETTING RECORDS: This year's team has set the school record for the most rounds of par or better in a single season since 1998-99. The Spartans have recorded 26 rounds under par and 17 rounds of par play. The 17 par rounds is the most in the last 19 years, while 26 rounds under par is the second-highest number.

My Leander leads the team in both categories this season, shooting 16 of her 27 rounds under par and six rounds of par. Abegail Arevalo has five par rounds, while Franziska Friedrich has shot four rounds under par.

Season Coach Under Par Par Total
2016-17 John Dormann 26 17 43
2008-09 John Dormann 29 13 42
2012-13 John Dormann 22 14 36
2014-15 John Dormann 16 15 31
2011-12 John Dormann 16 11 27