Women's Golf Selected To NCAA Columbus Regional May 8-10

April 27, 2017

Indianapolis, Ind.--The San José State women's golf team will make their 23rd appearance at an NCAA Regional this year as the Spartans were selected to play at the NCAA Columbus Regional.

The Spartans are one of 18 teams to play on the Scarlet Course at The Ohio State University Golf Club from May 8-10.  The top-six teams advance to the NCAA Championship, May 19-24 at the Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar, Grove, Illinois.  The low three individuals, not on those advancing teams, will also go to the championship.

The Columbus Regional includes Florida, Florida State, South Carolina, Arkansas, Colorado, Texas A&M, Purdue, Ohio State, Michigan, San Jose State, Houston, Louisville, Wisconsin, Kentucky, Old Dominion, Delaware, Missouri State and Cleveland State. 

"We are extremely excited to be back at regionals," said San José State head coach John Dormann. "We will be playing on a new course for us at the regional, so we will have to familiarize ourselves quickly with the Scarlet Course. The course is historically a tough course and pars are at a premium which is a strength of our team."

The Spartans are the 10th seed at the regional and will play the first round with Houston and Louisville beginning at 7:30 a.m. Eastern/4:30 a.m. Pacific off of #10.  Admission is free for all three rounds of the regional.



Three other regionals will be played in Lubbock, Texas, Athens, Ga., and Albuquerque, N.M.

Live scoring will be available at www.golfstat.com with a link on the Spartan web site.

NCAA Columbus Regional
Monday, May 8 - Wednesday, May 10
OSU Golf Club (Scarlet Course) - 3605 Tremont Rd., Columbus, OH 43221

Host Institution: The Ohio State University
Par: 72
Yardage: 6,416/6,349 yards (Hole #14 will potentially play at two different distances; 473/406)

Tournament Schedule/Format: 54 holes (18 holes each day with tee times beginning at 7:30 a.m. ET off the first and 10th tees.

Live Scoring: http://results.golfstat.com/public/leaderboards/gsnav.cfm?pg=participants&tid=13220


Participating Teams (seeded in the following order):


2-Florida State

3-South Carolina



6-Texas A&M


8-Ohio State


10-San Jose State





15-Old Dominion


17-Missouri State

18-Cleveland State


Participating Individuals:

1-Loy Hee Ying (East Tennessee State)

2-Camila Serrano (Florida International)

3-Michaela Fletcher (Memphis)

4-Emma Albrecht (Notre Dame)

5-Kate Smith (Nebraska)

6-Emie Peronnin (Minnesota)

# # #