Championship Week For The Spartans

    Three San Jose State University spring sports teams, women’s golf, women’s tennis and women’s water polo, are in conference championship competiiton the week of April 20-26.

    The nationally-ranked women’s golf team goes after its second Western Athletic Conference (WAC) championship in the last four years and fifth consecutive tournament win of the season at the Wolf Run Golf Club in Reno, Nev. Six teams, Fresno State, Boise State, Idaho, Hawaii, New Mexico State and host Nevada, are battling the Spartans for three days beginning Monday, April 20, on the par 72, 6,133-yard course.

    San Jose State heads into the WAC Championship ranked 21st nationally. Individually, four Spartans, senior Erica Moston, junior Cristina Corpus, sophomore Katrina Delen Briones and freshman Madeleine Ziegert are nationally-ranked in the April 14 GolfStat Cup standings. Moston is eighth; Corpus, 102nd; Delen Briones, 120th; and Ziegert, 241st.

    Five players for each team are playing 18 holes each day and the best four scores each day make up the team total. You can follow the action by clicking here.

    Women’s tennis and women’s water polo both will be on the University of Hawaii campus for their respective championships.

    San Jose State will face Louisiana Tech in the opening match of the WAC Women's Tennis Championship, Thursday, April 23, at 9:00 a.m. (HST). The winner advances to face top-seeded and nationally-ranked Fresno State six hours later at 3:00 p.m. (HST). The WAC Women’s Tennis Championship is a single-elimination tournament.

    The Spartans posted a 12-13 dual match win-loss record in 2009 and seek their second win over Louisiana Tech in six days. San Jose State beat Louisiana Tech, 7-0, in Logan, Utah, on April 17.

    Women’s water polo, ranked sixth in the latest national poll, is one of eight teams battling for the 2009 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championship, April 24-26, at the Duke Kahanamoku Aquatic Center. The Spartans (19-12) closed out the regular season winning 11 of their last 12 matches and are seeded fifth in the double-sided bracket that includes the top eight teams in the April 15 national poll.

    San Jose State opens the MPSF Championship against #5-ranked and fourth-seed California (30-6) on April 24 at 7:30 p.m. (HST)/10:30 p.m. (PST). In their regular season conference match-up, the Golden Bears won, 9-4. The winner takes on the winner of the USC-Arizona State match on April 25 at 6:00 p.m. (HST)/9:00 p.m. (PST) while the loser squares off in the first match on April 25 at 3:00 p.m. (HST)/6:00 p.m. (PST).

    Stanford, UCLA, San Diego State and host, Hawai'i, are the other four nationally-ranked teams competing for an automatic berth in the eight-team NCAA Championship, May 8-10, at the University of Maryland.

    You can follow the water polo team live on twitter.com by clicking here