Women's Golf Competes For MW Championship This Week

April 16, 2017

The San José State women’s golf team competes for the 2017 Mountain West Championship this week on the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at the Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, Calif. The par-72 course will play at 6,270 yards.

The Spartans will play 18 holes on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, as the first round begins at 7 a.m., with staggered tee times every nine minutes. San José State will play with Colorado State and Fresno State and will be one of the first three teams on the course Monday.

Fans can following along at http://www.golfstatresults.com/public/leaderboards/gsnav.cfm?pg=team&tid=11306.

San José State lineup

1. My Leander

2. Alexandra Cooper

3. Abegail Arevalo

4. Franziska Friedrich



5. Elizabeth Schultz

The five Spartan players have been together for all nine tournaments so far this season. The only thing that may have changed is the order of the players.

Leander enters the tournament as one of the top-30 players in the country (as ranked by Golfstat). She has a league-best 70.92 stroke average and has won two tournaments this year. Of her 24 rounds this season, Leander has record 14 rounds under par and five rounds of par. She is ranked 69th in the World Golf Amateur Rankings.

Cooper is coming off the best round of her career earlier this week at the Silverado Showdown where she shot a three-under 69. She also had her best three-round tournament score of the year with a 219.

Arevalo was the top-finisher last year for the Spartans at the MW Championship. She finished sixth at 222 and shot the low-round of the tournament with a career-best four-under 68 in the final round. She has the second-best stroke average on the team at 74.29 and has one under-par round and five rounds of par.

Friedrich is the only Spartan making her debut at the MW Championship. She has a 75.13 stroke average and shot a 68 earlier this season at the Las Vegas Collegiate Showdown. She has four rounds under par and two round of par.

Schultz rounds out the Spartan lineup with a 75.88 stroke average. Her best round this year was a 71 at the Las Vegas Collegiate Showdown, and she finished sixth at the Juli Inkster Spartan Invitational.

Spartan head coach John Dormann is in his 19th year with the Spartan golf program and 12th year as the head coach of the women’s program. He guided the 2013 and 2010 teams to appearances at the national championships and five Western Athletic Conference Championships.

Associate head coach Dana Dormann is in her 13th year with the program. The former Spartan was a three-time All-American and a member of the Spartans’ 1987 NCAA Championship team.

Participating Teams (Golfstat ranking)

San Diego State (30)

San José State (35)

UNLV (45)

Fresno State (70)

Nevada (90)

New Mexico (108)

Colorado State (120)

Wyoming (138)

Boise State (175)

Spartan results at MW Championships

2014 – Team – 2nd (903); Top Spartan – Regan De Guzman, 4th (220)

2015 – Team 3rd (886); Top Spartan – Megan Osland, 4th (217)

2016 – Team 4th (906); Top Spartan – Abegail Arevalo 6th (222)

# # #