Cunnigan Honored By Mountain West Coaches

Oct. 15, 2013

Colorado Spring, Colo. - Ta'Rea Cunnigan, a junior guard on the San José State women's basketball team, has been selected to the Mountain West Preseason All-Conference Team, by a vote of the conference's head coaches.

In 2012-13, Cunnigan was the nation's 17th leading scorer at 19.8 points per game and her 3.1 steals per contest were good for 14th among all Division I women's basketball players. 

A first-team All-Western Athletic Conference performer last year, she averaged 20.5 point in conference games, which ranked second in the WAC. 

Kayla Woodward, a junior forward for Wyoming, is the preseason Player of the Year. San Diego State's Chloe Johnson and Cierra Warren, are the Freshman and Newcomer of the Year.

The Spartans, under first-year head coach Jamie Craighead, were picked to finish ninth among 11 teams in the Mountain West with 76 points.   Fresno State, the 2013 MW tournament champion, was chosen as the preseason favorite to win the league (238 points, 17 first place votes).


2013-14 Mountain West Women's Basketball Preseason All-Conference Team

Ta'Rea Cunnigan                  Jr.                  G                  San José State

San Martin                        Sr.                  F                  Colorado State

Taylor Thompson                Sr.                  G                  Fresno State

Erimma Amarikwa              Jr.                  F                  San Diego State

Kayla Woodward                Jr.                  F                  Wyoming

Preseason Player of the Year

Kayla Woodward                  Jr.                  F                  Wyoming

Preseason Freshman of the Year

Chloe Johnson                               G                  San Diego State

Preseason Newcomer of the Year

Cierra Warren                    Sr.                  C                  San Diego State


2013-14 Mountain West Women's Basketball Preseason Poll

Team (1st place votes) Pts.
1.  Fresno State (17) 238
2.  Wyoming (4) 212
3.  San Diego State (2) 196
4.  New Mexico 185
5.  UNLV (2) 170
6.  Utah State 136
7.  Colorado State 130
8.  Boise State 96
9.  San José State 76
10.  Nevada 62
11.  Air Force 28