Women's Hoops Schedule Announced

San Jose, Calif. - San Jose State University women's head basketball coach Tim La Kose has announced the Spartans' 29-game 2011-12 schedule, with 13 home contests set for Walt McPherson Court.

"We are excited for the season and think this is a really good schedule for us," La Kose said.  "The non-conference games are crucial in our preparation for WAC play." 

San Jose State opens the year on November 6 hosting an exhibition game at 2:00 p.m. against Cal State East Bay.  The regular season starts seven days later, on November 13, when the Dons of San Francisco make their way south for a 2:00 p.m. tip-off in the Event Center.

On November 16, the Spartans travel to 2011 Big West champion UC Davis to play the first of three teams on the schedule that were 2011 NCAA Tournament participants.   

La Kose takes the squad on the road following the Thanksgiving holiday, to the Cal Poly Tournament in San Luis Obispo, Calif., November 26-27. Host Cal Poly, a 2011 Women's NIT participant, and American University will be the Spartans opponents.

December brings Northern Arizona (Dec. 1), Air Force (Dec. 19), Cal State Fullerton (Dec. 22) and Brown (Dec. 31) to Walt McPherson Court and in early January the non-conference schedule wraps up with a two-game trip to Utah to face Southern Utah (Jan. 3) and Utah Valley (Jan. 5).

"Fans will see us play a smart, hard brand of basketball that's really enjoyable to watch," La Kose said.  "We hope people will come out and watch us.  It really is a new brand of basketball. "

San Jose State opens conference play with three games at home against Hawai'i (Jan. 14), New Mexico State (Jan. 19) and 2011 regular-season champion and NCAA Tournament participant Louisiana Tech (Jan. 21).

The 2012 WAC Basketball Tournament will be held March 7-10 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas.  The tournament will begin on Wednesday, March 7, with two games; the No. 5 seed against the No. 8 seed and No. 6 against No. 7. The winners then advance to the quarterfinal matchups to play the No. 4 and No. 3 seeds. The winners of those games then advance to the semifinals against the top two seeds.