Coronado, Lambdin, Among Banquet Award Winners

San Jose, Calif. -- The men and women's cross country team convened one last time in 2010 for this year's team award banquet. Head coach Augie Argabright, and assistants Jeff Argabright and Angela Stearns handed out this year's awards.

     Alfredo Coronado won the "most valuable player" award on the men's side, while Kate Lambdin and Elizabeth Raymond both walked away as MVP's for the women.

     Coronado had three top-ten finishes this season including a first place effort at the "Battle of the Bay" race. Lambdin and Raymond were San Jose State's top two finishers in every woman's race of 2010.

     The "Spartan Award" for good sportsmanship and competitive spirit was given to junior Antonio Cantu of the men's team and junior Jessica Ponce of the women's team.

     Finally, freshman Kellen Cole went home with the "newcomer of the year" award. Cole was one of seven new runners competing for the Spartans in 2010, but was the only one to participate in all six races.