Spartans Seventh At Bronco Invitational

Sunnyvale, Calif. -- The San Jose State men's cross country team crossed the line in tenth place out of 20 teams in their final regular season race of the year at the Bronco Invitational on October 15 in Sunnyvale, Calif.

Kellen Cole led the Spartans for the second time this season. The sophomore finished the 8K course through Baylands Regional Park in 26:46.6 and finished in 43rd place.

Ansel Mills and Hector Lopez-Garcia weren't far behind coming in 49th and 55th place respectively.

Senior Alex Esparza finished in 68th place (27:45.9) and Pablo Borceguin came in 71st (27:57.0) to round out the scorers for San Jose State.

"I thought we could have finished better," said head coach Augie Argabright. "But we are still making strides to get better and we're gearing up for the WAC championship coming up."

The Los Angeles Trade Technical College took first place honors with a team score of 42 and Jonathon Glocknitzer of Dominican University finished the course in 20:05.5 to take first place individually by over four minutes.

The next action for San Jose State will be at the Western Athletic Conference Championship on October 29 in Honolulu, Hawai'I.

Team Results:
1.    82  Johns Hopkins University
2.   148  Academy of Art University
3.   178  University of San Francisco
4.   182  Santa Clara University
5.   214  Cal State Monterey Bay
6.   229  American River College
7.   286  San Jose State
8.   328  Pepperdine
9.   351  Saint Mary's College
10.   360  Holy Names University
11.   399  Cal State East Bay
12.   432  William Jessup University
13.   443  Simpson University
14.   446  UC Merced
15.   470  Dominican University of CA
16.   483  Notre Dame de Namur

SJSU Results:
43      Kellen Cole            26:46.6
49      Ansel Mills            27:01.0
55      Hector Lopez-Garcia    27:13.9
68      Alex Esparza           27:45.9
71      Pablo Borceguin        27:57.0
76      Antonio Cantu          28:07.3

Top Five Finishers:
1     Jonathon Glocknitzer    Dominican            20:05.5
2     Agustin Alva            LA Trade Technical   24:28.9
3     Amos Maru               Academy of Art       24:51.0
4     Bryon Puentes           LA Trade Technical   25:07.3
5     Nicholas Alvarado       Unattached           25:14.4