Cross Country Ready To Run In Season Opener On Saturday

Rebecca Garcia (front) and Lalida Maokhamphiou (back) are two letterwinners returning for the women's cross country team this season.

Aug 28, 2013

The San José State men's and women's cross country teams begin their inaugural season in the Mountain West Conference (MW) this Saturday, August 31, at the USF Invitational in San Francisco, Calif.

The women's 5,000-meter race will begin at 9:30 a.m. with the men's 8,000-meter race to follow at 10:15 a.m. Both competitions will take place inside Golden Gate Park.

"Both teams have been training hard in the weeks leading up to our season," said Spartans' head coach Jeff Petersmeyer. "We're excited to see where we are at this point."

California, Santa Clara, Stanford and host USF along with San José State make up a group of Division I Bay Area team in the women's field. BYU, Northridge, Holy Names, Pacific and UC Santa Cruz are also in the women's event.

Joining the Spartan men's team in the field are Northridge, California, Holy Names, Santa Clara, Stanford, UC Santa Cruz, UC Merced and host USF.

SJSU women's lineup:

  1. Marissa Buckley
  2. Kellianne Connolly
  3. Melanie Fujiwara
  4. Breanna Garcia
  5. Rebecca Garcia
  6. Lalida Maokhamphiou
  7. Aylin Mejia
  8. Karina Nunes
  9. Nina Sassano
  10. Alexandra Seda
  11. Shelby Soladar
  12. Jessica Stacey
  13. Agnes Portal

SJSU men's lineup:

  1. Jannik Ernst
  2. Mueen Ghoury
  3. Samuel Ryan
  4. Alexander Selevos
  5. Nicholas Sherrell
  6. Matthew Stephens
  7. Imran Zaman
  8. Garrick Chan



This Saturday's race is the debut for SJSU's cross country programs in the Mountain West Conference and it is also the team's debut under new head coach Jeff Petersmeyer.


Of the eight athletes in the men's lineup, six are returning letterwinners from the 2012 season. There are four returning letterwinners in the women's lineup.


The 2013 Mountain West Preaseason Coaches' Poll has the San José State men's cross country team finishing eighth place and the women's team finishing in 11. The MW Championship, hosted by Air Force in Colorado Springs, Colo., takes place November 1.