Branagh Leads Spartans At MW Championship

Jannik Ernst was the second Spartan across the finish line at the MW Championship

Nov. 1, 2013

Complete Results

Colorado Springs, Colo. -- Ben Branagh led San José State for the first time this season, and the Spartans finished in eighth place at the Mountain West (MW) Championship in Colorado Springs, Colo., on Friday morning.

Branagh finished the 8K course in 26:51.57 to lead SJSU, and came in 56th place overall. "I thought Ben had a solid meet," said Spartans' Distance coach Brad Wick.

Jannik Ernst, who had led SJSU in every 2013 race he competed in, finished in 58th place with a time of 27:11.98. Samuel Ryan clocked a 28:20.47, good for 60th, while Nicholas Sherrell was 61st with a time of 28:59.67.

Matthew Stephens also scored for San José State with a 63rd place finish and a time of 29:58.71.

New Mexico took first place in the team results for the fifth consecutive season. The Lobos scored 32 points to finish ahead of second-place Colorado State which scored 51.



New Mexico had three runners occupy top-five spots, but it was Air Force's Isaiah Bragg who took first place with a time of 24:08.39.

Bragg was named MW Men's Student-Athlete of the Year, and New Mexico coach Joe Franklin received MW Men's Coach of the Year honors.


Team Results:

1. New Mexico 32

2. Colorado State 51

3. Air Force 80

4. Boise State 101

5. Wyoming 106

6. Utah State 130

7. Fresno State 222

8. San Jose State 248


SJSU Results:

56. Ben Branagh 26.51.57

58. Jannik Ernst 27:11.98

60. Samuel Ryan 28:20.47

61. Nicholas Sherrell 28:59.67

63. Matthew Stephens 29:58.71

64. Garrick Chan 33:47.46


Top Individuals:

1. Isaiah Bragg Air Force 24:08.39

2. Luke Caldwell New Mexico 24:12.40

3. Adam Bitchell New Mexico 24:16.88

4. Pat Zacharias New Mexico 24:26.07

5. Garrett Zans Wyoming 24:27.20