University Honors Convocation Includes Record-Setting 62 Student-Athletes

April 27, 2017

For the third consecutive year, a record number of San Jose State University student-athletes will be recognized at the University's annual Honors Convocation.

When the 55th annual Honors Convocation takes place Friday, April 28, at The Event Center, 62 current and recently graduated Spartan student-athletes will be among more than 4,000 outstanding students recognized for consistent academic achievement either as a President's Scholar or a Dean's Scholar. Last year, 59 student-athletes were honored at the Honors Convocation.

To earn the President's Scholar designation, a student must earn a 4.00 grade-point average in two of the previous three semesters before the annual Honors Convocation. A Dean's Scholar is a San Jose State student with a 3.65 or higher grade-point average per semester during a similar academic calendar.

Six student-athletes, Jannik Ernst from men's cross country, gymnast Adrianne Manseau, softball player Jessie Meyer, Sabrina Miller from women's soccer, Felix Petermann from men's soccer and women's basketball player Emily Vann, are President's Scholars.

"We are very proud of the student-athletes that achieved President's Scholar or Dean's Scholar status this year. Their dedication to academic achievement while pursuing their interest in competing in Division I intercollegiate athletics is noteworthy," says Eileen Daley, senior associate athletics director for academics and student services. Overall, the student-athlete population's percentage of honorees, 13 percent, is proportionately consistent with the overall campus population. "To show a gradual increase in each of the last three years demonstrates we have the programs in place for our student-athletes to excel academically.

"Congratulations to our student-athletes, their coaches, academic support staff, instructors and professors for collaborating to realize academic excellence."

The gymnastics program accounts for the most student-athlete honorees with 11 Dean's Scholars and one President's Scholar. Women's swimming and diving is next with seven. Half of the 62 student-athletes are previous President's and/or Dean's Scholars. Gymnast Adrianne Manseau, football's Tim Crawley and women's tennis player Justine Deleval are Dean's or President's Scholars for the fourth year in a row.

President's Scholars
Name Sport Academic Major
Jannik Ernst  Men's Cross Country  Business Administration/Management
Adrianne Manseau Gymnastics Communication Studies
Jessie Meyer  Softball Psychology
Sabrina Miller Women's Soccer  Business Administration/Marketing
Felix Petermann Men's Soccer Public Relations
Emily Vann Women's Basketball Public Relations
Dean's Scholars
Name Sport Academic Major
Alex Anastassi Men's Soccer  Communication Studies
Patricia Aubel  Gymnastics Applied Mathematics
Oscar Barron  Football    Political Science
Amy Bellingham Gymnastics Child & Adolescent Development
Claire Berkley Women's Soccer  Business Administration/Management
Alice Bogdan Gymnastics  Applied Mathematics
Ben Branagh Men's Cross Country Sociology
Brenna Bushey

Women's Swimming & Diving

Public Relations
Garrick Chan

Men's Cross Country

Veronica Chung

Women's Soccer

Business/Corporate Accounting Finance
Tim Crawley


Business Administration/Management Information Systems
Justine Deleval Tennis  Business Administration/Finance
Lisa Ellis Women's Swimming & Diving Global Studies
Loni Fa   Football  Recreation Management
Kylie Fonseca Women's Swimming & Diving Psychology
Franziska Friedrich Women's Golf  Geography
Hallie Gennett   Women's Basketball   Recreation
Hannah Gilbert  Gymnastics  Kinesiology
Julia Golbeck  Beach Volleyball   Communication Studies
Rachel Heinl  Gymnastics Recreation
Maddie Herr Gymnastics  Business Administration/Entrepreneurship
Jamie Hirai  Volleyball  Business Administration/Accounting
Dorthe Hoppius Women's Soccer   Justice Studies
Jessie Hufstetler  Softball  Recreation
Colleen Humel  Women's Swimming & Diving Art
Nicole Iloanya Women's Track & Field Political Science
Tyler Jamieson Men's Water Polo Economics
Chelsea Jenner Softball  Communication Studies
Fanny Johansson Women's Golf  Business Administration/Marketing
Jenner Johnson  Women's Swimming & Diving Communication Studies
Kelsey Johnson-Upshaw Women's Track & Field Kinesiology
Brad Keyer  Men's Golf  Psychology
Marie Klocker Tennis Business Administration
Rae Lekness Women's Water Polo Kinesiology
Katelyn Linford Softball  Mechanical Engineering
Alicia Magliocco Women's Water Polo Radio/TV/Film
Erica Matos Gymnastics Kinesiology
McElle McCartney Gymnastics Advertising
Allison Meehan Volleyball Business Administration/Marketing
Natasha Moffitt  Women's Swimming & Diving Nutritional Science 
Sara Northam Women's Water Polo  Child & Adolescent Development
Karina Nunes  Women's Cross Country Psychology
Jonathan Partida Men's Soccer Hospitality, Tourism & Event Management
Madiha Raza  Women's Track & Field Business Administration/Marketing
Cari Reiswig Women's Swimming & Diving Journalism
Stephanie Relova  Gymnastics  Kinesiology
Gaelle Rey Women's Tennis Business Administration/Management
Raul Rodarte Men's Cross Country Communication Studies
Julie Sam Volleyball  Hospitality, Tourism & Event Management
Michelle Shalit  Gymnastics Kinesiology
Michelle Taikeff  Women's Water Polo Psychology
Katelynn Thompson Women's Water Polo  Kinesiology
Hana Tresnáková  Volleyball   Communication Studies
Kendal Watts  Gymnastics  Communication Studies
Ryan Welage   Men's Basketball   Kinesiology
Jeanette Zambrano  Women's Cross Country Kinesiology