Six Men's Soccer Players Earn All-Conference Honors

Denver, Colo. - Six members of the San Jose State University men's soccer program have earned all-conference awards from the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation for their performances during the 2009 season.

The awards were announced at the league's banquet on the eve of the 2009 MPSF Tournament in Denver, Colo., on Wednesday, November 11.

Senior co-captains Nick Cukar and Oscar Monjaras were chosen by the eight MPSF head coaches to the 13-player first team. Fourth-year senior striker Colby Moore and sophomore goalkeeper Jonathan Lester made their way onto the 12-player second team, while fifth-year senior midfielder Brian McGuire and junior Josh Boemecke picked up All-MPSF honorable mention. All four Spartan veteran seniors were recognized.

This is the second year in a row that the Spartans have had six all-conference honorees, following a third successive third-place league finish. The All-MPSF distinction is the third in a row for Cukar, second straight for Moore and Boemecke, and first for the careers of Monjaras, Lester and McGuire.

Cukar (Millbrae, Calif./Capuchino HS) leads San Jose State in goals scored for a second year in a row from his left outside midfield position, with seven. He has 15 total points from those seven strikes and one assist. He is tied for second in the MPSF in goals after sharing the league lead as a junior. Cukar is a repeat first-teamer after earning All-MPSF honorable mention in 2007. He is one of three Spartans to have started all 19 games in 2009. In fact, Cukar has started 56 consecutive games since the 2007 opener, without missing a single contest, and has tallied 22 goals for his career.

Monjaras (Watsonville, Calif./Watsonville HS) has started 17 matches as a Spartan center back in 2009, missing just the USF game through red-card suspension and the home meeting with Sacramento State due to injury. He has produced all three of his collegiate goals this season, all via the penalty spot, and played a large role in directing a young Spartan back line that lost its other three starting members to graduation, to seven shutouts on the year.

Moore, a Los Gatos native out of nearby Bellarmine College Prep, is a second-teamer for the second year in a row. Having started all 19 matches, he has six points from one goal and four assists in 2009. Moore has totalled 11 goals and 13 assists as a Spartan.

Lester, a product of Fort Worth, Texas, who transferred to San Jose State from Southern Methodist University ahead of the 2009 spring semester, leads the MPSF in shutouts (7) and shutouts per game (0.41) in his first season as a starting collegiate goalkeeper. He is also second with a 0.93 goals-against-average. Lester, who has made 17 starts in 2009, posted three successive clean sheets and over 341 straight minutes (341:30) of shutout soccer in all, during the year.

Boemecke (O'Fallon, Ill.), a second-year transfer from Saint Louis University, and McGuire (Sacramento, Calif./Bella Vista HS) are the Spartan workhorses in holding central midfield. Boemecke, who also picked up All-MPSF honorable mention in 2008, has produced offensive career highs of his first three collegiate goals, and five assists, for 11 points. His assist and point totals are tied for first, and third, respectively, on the team chart, with the five assists now tied for fourth in the MPSF. Boemecke has started 18 matches, missing just the game at Seattle due to a red-card suspension.

McGuire is a first-time all-conference honoree in his fifth and final season of college soccer. All seven San Jose State shutouts this season have come since he made his 2009 debut against Notre Dame de Namur on September 16, having been forced to miss the first five contests of the year due to injury. He has started each of the past 13 matches, and 40 of 67 games played throughout his Spartan career.

Top honors in the MPSF went to Sacramento State junior midfielder Ernesto Carranza for Player of the Year, Denver freshman forward Alex Tarnoczi for Newcomer of the Year, and 21st-year Sacramento State leader Michael Linenberger for Coach of the Year. Linenberger, who led the Hornets to their first regular-season MPSF title since 2001, is now a three-time honoree.

San Jose State, currently with an even 9-9-1 overall record, opens the MPSF Tournament as the third seed against sixth-seeded UNLV on Thursday, November 12, at 3:30 p.m. PST.