Five Spartans Named To All-WAC Men's Soccer Teams

Nov. 7, 2017

Las Vegas, Nev.----- Defenders Andy Rios, Omar Lemus and Jeff Dukes, forward Jeremy Romero and midfielder Max Allen were named to the Western Athletic Conference (WAC) all-conference teams during the conference's pre-tournament banquet.

Rios, a junior from Chowchilla, Calif., was a second-team All-WAC choice. Romero, a junior from Hercules, Calif., and Dukes, a sophomore from Vacaville, Calif., were honorable mention selections. Allen, from Liverpool, England, and Lemus, from San Jose, were named to the All-Freshman team.

The Last Meeting
San Jose State1
October 22, 2017
Edinburg, Texas
San Jose State Men's Soccer Wins 3rd Straight -- 1-0 Over UTRGV
Andrew Mendoza scored the only goal of the match in the 72nd minute and goalkeeper David Heredia earned his third shutout in eight days as the Spartans beat UTRGV, 1--0.

Three of the five San Jose State honorees occupy the Spartans' backline. Rios was in the middle anchoring a defense that came up with four conference shutout wins in the final six contests to qualify for the seven-team WAC Tournament as the #4-seed. He was named the WAC Defensive Player of the Week after a pair of blank sheets at Houston Baptist, 1-0, and at Incarnate Word, 2-0, two days later.

Dukes, like Rios and Romero, was a starter in all 18 regular-season matches. He led the team in minutes played with 1,611. Romero was the team's top goal scorer with nine. Four of his goals came in the 10-match conference season. Twice, he had two-goal matches in wins against non-conference opponent Saint Mary's and UMKC in the next-to-last regular season contest.



Allen started in 17 games and led the team in assists with three. Lemus had two assists during the season.

San Jose State (7-10-1) is the #4-seed in the WAC Tournament. The Spartans take on #5-seed UTRGV (7-6-3) in the quarterfinal round match, Wednesday, November 8, at 1:00 p.m. on the Peter Johann Field on the UNLV campus. The winner advances to a semifinal match-up with regular-season champion Air Force (14-1-2) on Friday, November 10.