Men's Golf Heads To Rees Jones Intercollegiate

            After a 12-month wait, the San Jose State University men's golf team makes its debut in the state of South Carolina as one of 12 teams entered in the Rees Jones Intercollegiate. This year's 54-hole tournament takes place, Monday and Tuesday, October 5 and 6, at the Haig Point Club in Daufuskie Island, South Carolina.

            The Spartans were scheduled to play in last year's tournament, but the threat of Hurricane Hanna, forced a cancellation.

            Head coach John Kennaday plans to enter four-fifths of the team that finished second in the season-opening Palouse Collegiate in Pullman, Wash. Sophomores Matthew Hovan, Nick Brown and Jay Myers all finished among the top-15 golfers. Hovan, playing in just his second tournament and first in the Spartans' lineup, led the way with a fourth-place, four-under par 212 finish. Brown tied for eighth; Myers, tied for 12th. Mark Hubbard, a junior, who seeks to rebound from his 41st place finish at the Palouse Collegiate and senior Stephan Stallworth round out the five-man San Jose State team. Stallworth replaces Drew Nottenkamper, who was 59th in the season-opener.

            "We've got a lot of depth. And, we have the makings of a good team. Our guys have to duke it out with good scores in practice just to get on the travel squad," says Kennaday, who points out all five Spartans in the lineup have at least one top-10 career college tournament finish.

            Currently ranked 84th in the September 30 GolfStat national rankings, San Jose State faces three teams ranked in the top-50. South Carolina (#24), Pepperdine (#38) and North Carolina-Wilmington (#40) top the field. Host Michigan State (#119), Kennesaw State (#129), Mercer (#131), Winthrop (#165), Jacksonville (#166), Georgia State and Tennessee State round out the field.

            All players are expected to play 36 holes on the par 72, 7,380-yard course on October 5 and 18 holes on October 6 starting at 8:30 a.m. (EDT). The team's best four scores for each 18 holes count to the team total. All players also are eligible for the individual title.

            Live scoring will be available at: