Spartans Host Strong Field In 68th Transamerica/WFG Western Intercollegiate

Justin Estrada had two rounds in the 60s in the 2013 Transamerica/WFG Western Intercollegiate to earn a top-10 finish.

April 7, 2014

San Jose, Calif. - Returning to the famed Alister MacKenzie-designed Pasatiempo Golf Club in Santa Cruz, Calif. for the 68th year, the Transamerica/WFG Western Intercollegiate, one of college golf's most valued championships, will be contested April 12-13.

Hosted by San José State University, this year's edition of the longest running college golf tournament west of the Mississippi River boasts a field with five of the nation's top-20 teams including No. 3 California and No. 6 Stanford, as well as the four of the top-10 ranked individual men's college golfers, according to the April 1 rankings.

Alongside California and Stanford, No. 17 Washington, No. 19 Texas and No. 20 Southern California will tee it up with host San Jose State (#127). The field also includes SMU (#26), Arizona State (#29), Memphis (#37), Oregon (#40), San Diego State (#41), UC Irvine (#126), UTEP (#104), and Hawaii (#163).

Stanford’s Patrick Rodgers (No. 2) and California’s Brandon Hagy (No. 4) are among 18 of the top-100 ranked collegians that will play in the 54-hole event.  Rodgers, who has four win so far this year, and Hagy, a three time winner this year, are joined by California’s Jöel Stalter (No. 12), also a three time winner, and Stanford’s Cameron Wilson (No 10) who has picked up one tournament win this season. 

Rodgers is ranked No. 1 in the World Amateur Rankings and No. 2 in GolfStat. This is the third year in a row the Western has the R&A's top-ranked amateur in the world in its field.

The 88 players representing 14 schools will play 36 holes Saturday with a shotgun-start beginning at 8:15 a.m. PDT, and 18 holes on Sunday.  Team scores on the 6,615-yard par-70 course will be calculated by a play-six, score-five format.  



There is no admission charge for the 68th Transamerica/WFG Western Intercollegiate and parking is free. Live scoring during all three rounds is available at and