Men's Golfers Aiming For Western Intercollegiate Title

The tournament is underway and you can get updates on

San Jose State University seeks its first win of the season when it hosts the 62nd annual Western Intercollegiate men’s golf tournament, Wednesday & Thursday, March 26 & 27, at the famed Pasatiempo Golf Course in Santa Cruz, Calif.

15 universities from eight states and the Spartans are competing for the team title in the oldest continuous men’s college golf tournament west of the Mississippi River. Texas Tech (#23) and Michigan State (#25) are the top-ranked teams according to GolfStat that are playing the par 70, Alister MacKenzie-designed course.

Besides host San Jose State (#125), local teams participating are California (#64), Saint Mary’s (#50) and Santa Clara (#98).

Columbia (#205), Colorado (#69), Hawaii (#176), Missouri (#113) and Nevada (#95) give the Western Intercollegiate its annual national flair. Fresno State (#90), Long Beach State (#137), UC Irvine (#63) and UC Santa Barbara (#86) round out the field.

San Jose State has the most Western Intercollegiate titles with 12. Fresno State is next with nine. California, Colorado and UC Santa Barbara each have one team championship to its credit. Six different universities including Purdue last year have taken home the team title in the last six years.

The Spartans seek their first Western Intercollegiate championship since 1994. San Jose State head coach John Kennaday, whose team has three top-six finishes in seven tournaments this season, is entering a lineup of sophomore Stephan Stallworth, junior Rosco Valentine and freshmen Peter Gibbs, Mark Hubbard and Miguel Camitoc. Drew Nottenkamper, Ryan Collins and Jon Tringale of San Jose State are playing as individual entries and their scores will not count in the team scoring.

Michigan State’s Will Brehm (#27) and Texas Tech’s Will Griffin (#93) are the tournament’s top-ranked golfers nationally according to GolfStat. 16 of the nation’s top-250 golfers are expected to be in the field.

Past individual champions include Ken Venturi, Johnny Miller, Peter Jacobsen, Mark Lye, Mark O’Meara, Bobby Clampett, Duffy Waldorf and Arron Oberholser, all winners on the PGA Tour. John Streibich of Xavier was the 2007 medalist with a tournament record-tying total of 199 that included a hole-in-one during the final round.

The 54-hole tournament consists of 36 holes on March 26 and 18 holes on March 27. Play begins each day at 8:00 a.m. (PDT). Each team consists of five golfers and the best four scores from each round counts toward the team total. All 90 golfers are eligible for the individual championship.

There is no admission charge either day. Parking is available at one of the three Pasatiempo Golf Course parking lots.