Spartans Head Up To Stanford At The Goodwin

March 22, 2016

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The San José State men’s golf team head up to Stanford for The Goodwin tournament starting Thursday, March 24. The three-day tournament on the par-70, 6,727 yard Stanford University Golf Course features 54 holes of stroke play with a play five, score four format.

The 25-team field is comprised of #4-USC, #17-North Carolina, Arizona, BYU, Colorado, Colorado State, Denver, Fresno State, Loyola Marymount, Marquette, Nevada, Northern Colorado, Northwestern, Oregon, Pacific, Pepperdine, St. Mary’s, San Jose State, Santa Clara, Southern Methodist, UC Davis, UCLA, UNLV, USF and host #10-Stanford.

The Spartans lineup will be announced on Wednesday, March 23rd. The starting five will tee off the first round between 8:25 – 9:09 a.m. PT off of the 10th hole along with Pacific and Denver.

In the second round, San José State will tee off between 1:50 – 2:34 p.m. PT from the first hole along with Pacific and Denver again.

The third round tee times will be based on scores after the first two rounds.  

Fans can follow The Goodwin action with live scoring updates provided by (Team leaderboard, Player leaderboard).

Following The Goodwin, the Spartans will host the 70th annual Western Intercollegiate at the Pasatiempo Golf Course in Santa Cruz from Monday, April 11 to Wednesday, April 13. 


The Spartans last competed on March 6 – March 8 at the Bandon Dunes Championship in Bandon, Ore. finishing 12th out of 12 teams.

The lineup featured Taylor Bromley, Kevin Velo, Scott Munger, Brett Thawley and Matthew Murray. Bradley Keyer and Henrik Sohlberg played as individuals.

Murray and Keyer had the low scores for the Spartans shooting 19-over 232, tying them for 51st.


Dating back to the 1998-99 season, the Spartans have played in 15 of the last 17 The Goodwin tournaments or United States Intercollegiate as it was previously known before it was renamed in 2014.

In last season’s tournament, the Spartans finished tied for 14th in a 24-team field as Bromley, Munger, Sohlberg and Thawley, from this year's team, played at last year’s tournament.

San José State won the team title in 1976 with Mark Lye capturing the individual medalist honors in 1975 with a score of 214.  


Keep up with your San José State men's golf team this season on social media! 

The team is active on Facebook.