Spartans Third; Blick & Potter Share Lead After 36 Holes

Oct. 25, 2013

El Paso, Texas – The San José State men’s golf team shot its two best round of the year, a 280 and 281, are in third place and Cody Blick and Marcus Potter are in a four-way tie for the lead after 36 holes of the Price Give ‘Em Five Invitational.

Blick and Potter each shot eight-under par (136) on the par 72, 7,307-yard Butterfield Trail Golf Club and are tied with New Mexico State’s Pat Beyhan and host UTEP’s Martin Simonsen atop the leader board heading into Saturday’s final round.

Potter, in the second tournament of his collegiate career, had 11 birdies in his first two rounds.  His only blemishes were a bogey and double bogey in the first and second rounds, respectively.  His first round 67, which he backed up with a 69, are his two lowest rounds of the year.

Blick reversed the scores Potter posted with a 69 in the first and 67 in the second round.  He had three eagles on the day; on the par 4 343-yard 15th hole in the first round and on the par 5 520-yard 14th and par 5 566-yard 18th holes in the second round.  In addition, Blick carded seven birdies on the day. For the third time in four tournaments this year, he enters the final round with at least a share of the lead.  In his previous two times in this position, he won individual medalist honors.

Daniel Semmler recorded 10 birdies and an equal number of bogeys in his two rounds. He was never more than two-under or two-over at any point in the day and signed for matching 72s.  His 144 total (E) slots him into a tie for 27th place.



Justin Estrada began his day with two pars, a bogey and a birdie in his first four holes.  Standing at even par after six holes, he eagled the 15th to move to two under.  After a bogey on the 17th, he made the turn at one under.  Estrada opened the back nine with a pair of birdies to move to three under, but after three bogeys in his final seven holes and he signed for a 72 (E).  His second 18 saw him get it to one under through 13 holes, but he bogeyed two of his final five and signed for a 73 (+1).  He is in a tie for 32nd place at 145 (+1).

On his opening hole of the tournament, Landon Polterock eagled and then road a rollercoaster for the next 17 holes.  Polterock, playing as an individual, carded five birdies, five bogeys and a double bogey for an even par 72.  His second 18 were much steadier.  He recorded a birdie and 14 pars and finished the day tied for 44th place at three-over par (147).

Felix Möesmang went out in 43 (+7) in round one, but steadied himself and came home in one-over 37 for an 80 (+8).  His second round was just as bumpy on the outward nine, but shot a two under on his backside to card a 79.  His 159 (+15) leaves him tied for 86th.

New Mexico State leads the tournament at 25-under par (551).  Colorado is eight strokes back at 559 (-17).  The Spartans are in third at 15-under (561).

San José State will play with New Mexico State, Colorado and Air Force in the final round on Saturday.  The teams will tee off in a shotgun start at 8:00 a.m. (MT) from the first, second, third and fourth holes.  Polterock goes off on the 15th hole.

Price Give ‘Em Five Invitational

Butterfield Trail Golf Club

Par 72 – 7,307 yards

36-Hole Results


Team Results

1. New Mexico State – 551 (-25)

2. Colorado – 559 (-17)

3. San José State – 561 (-15)

T4. Kansas – 565 (-11)

T4. Air Force – 565 (-11)

6. Nebraska – 570 (-6)

7. UTEP – 577 (+1)

8. Northern Colorado – 578 (+2)

T9. Idaho – 579 (+3)

T9. Seattle – 579 (+3)

11. Western New Mexico – 580 (+4)

12. Grand Canyon – 584 (+8)

13. UC Riverside – 587 (+11)

14. Boise State – 597 (+21)

15. Utah – 604 (+28)


Individual Results

T1. Cody Blick (SJSU) 69, 67 – 136 (-8)

T1. Marcus Potter (SJSU) 67, 69 – 136 (-8)

T1. Pat Beyhan (NMSU) 69, 67 – 136 (-8)

T1. Martin Simonsen (UTEP) 71, 65 – 136 (-8)

T5. Two tied at (-7)


San José State Results

T1. Cody Blick 69, 67 – 136 (-8)

T1. Marcus Potter 67, 69 – 136 (-8)

T27. Daniel Semmler 72, 72 – 144 (E)

T32. Justin Estrada 72, 73 – 145 (+1)

T44. Landon Polterock (I) 72, 75 – 147 (+3)

T86. Felix Möesmang 80, 79 – 159 (+15)