Fales Named Alan B. Simpkins MVP At Football Awards Banquet

Linebacker Keith Smith received the Outstanding Defensive Player Award.

Dec. 15, 2013

Record-setting quarterback David Fales was named the Alan B. Simpkins Most Valuable Player at the annual San Jose State University Football Awards Banquet presented by Filice Insurance.

Fales threw for 4,189 yards and 33 touchdowns and accounted for two more six-pointers rushing for the game-winning score against Wyoming and the game-clinching TD in the Fresno State win. For the 2013 season, he currently ranks fourth in passing yards per game, fifth in total offense and 21st nationally in passing efficiency.

The 6-foot-3, 220-pound senior from Salinas completed his two-year San Jose State career tying or establishing 28 game, season or career school records and three Mountain West Conference marks.

Linebacker Keith Smith, the national leader in tackles per game with his 13.2 per game average, was named the Outstanding Defensive Player. The senior from Covina became the first Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) player to record back-to-back games of 20 or more tackles since the NCAA began recognizing defensive statistics as official in 2000. Smith finished the season with 159 tackles and 476 for his career - ninth best in FBS history.

Wide receiver Chandler Jones, like Smith and cornerback Bené Benwikere, a first-team Mountain West selection received the Outstanding Offensive Player award. Jones caught 79 passes for 1,356 yards and a San Jose State single-season school record 15 touchdowns. At the end of the 2013 regular season in the national rankings, he is tied for second in touchdown receptions, fifth in receiving yards and receiving yards per game and tied for 22nd in receptions per game. The senior from Los Angeles concluded his Spartan career with six single-game, season and career records.

Placekicker Austin Lopez, matched his single-season kick scoring record of 105 points, picked up the Outstanding Special Teams Player award. Lopez was 22-of-27 in field goals and 39-of-40 in PATs for his 105 points. He was 10-of-12 in field goals of 40 or more yards.

Offensive tackle Wes Schweitzer received the Academic Achievement Award; wide receiver Tyler Winston, Lawry Jasper Outstanding Freshman Award; offensive guard Ryan Jones, the Brent Evans Most Courageous Player Award; wide receiver Noel Grigsby, Most Inspirational; and defensive tackle Anthony Larceval, Comeback Player.

Other award winners were linebacker Jared Leaf, running back Ray Lomas IV, and defensive lineman Chris Gonzalez, Outstanding Scout Team; offensive guard Nicholas Kaspar, Outstanding Offensive Lineman; nose tackle Nate Falo, Outstanding Defensive Lineman; and Benwikere, Outstanding Senior.

Fales, Grigsby, Jones, Smith, Kaspar and defensive tackle Travis Raciti were recognized as team captains for the 2013 squad that finished with a 6-6 win-loss record and a 5-3 slate in San Jose State's first season in the Mountain West.