Travis Raciti Accepts East-West Shrine Game Invitation

Travis Raciti was credited with 72 tackles in 2014.
Dec. 4, 2014

Tampa, Fla.----- Travis Raciti, San Jose State University's defensive tackle who was named a Mountain West second-team all-conference player, accepted an invitation to play in the 90th East-West Shrine Game, Saturday, January 17, 2015 at Tropicana Field.

Raciti completed four seasons with the Spartans as one of the top defensive linemen on the West Coast. The four-year starter was a two-time all-conference player earning first-team All-Western Athletic Conference honors in 2012 prior to his recent 2014 All-Mountain West recognition. He finished his major college career with 187 tackles, 27.0 tackles for loss and 14.5 quarterback sacks.

Raciti is one of just seven players in the 123-year history of the program to be named a team captain for more than one season. He was a team captain for the 2013 Spartans his junior season and served in a similar role in 2014.

The 2014 graduate majored in communication studies and was a three-time academic all-conference award winner.

The NFL Network will televise the 2015 East-West Shrine Game beginning at 1:00 p.m. (PT)/2:00 p.m. (MT)/3:00 p.m. (CT)/4:00 p.m. (ET).

San Jose State's participation in the longest running all-star college football game dates back to 1935 when Bud Hubbard was the first Spartan to play in the contest. Since then, 47 Spartans and five San José State head coaches participated in the game that has the slogan, "Strong Legs Run That Weak Legs May Walk."

Year Player Year Player Year Player
1935 Bud Hubbard, E 1977 Gerald Small, DB 1995 Dan Godfrey, LB
1940 Leroy ZImmerman, FB 1979 Jewerl Thomas, RB 1996 Brian Roche, TE
1949 Bob Pifferini, C 1981 Mark Nichols, WR 1999 David Loverne, OL
1954 Tom Louderback, OL 1982

Gerald Willhite, RB

2002 Chris Fe’esago, OL

1961

Mack Burton, HB 1983 Gill Byrd, DB Deonce Whitaker, RB
Oscar Donahue, E Steve Clarkson, QB 2003 Tim Provost, OL
1965 Charlie Harraway, FB Tim Kearse, WR 2004 Joseph Hayes, OL
1967 Danny Holman, QB 1984 Eric Richardson, WR Neil Parry, Special Teams
1971 Dave Chaney, LB 1987 John Aimonetti, OL Scott Rislov, QB
1972 Cody Jones, DL 1988 Kenny Jackson, RB 2005 Eddie Brown, DL
1974 Dave Wasick, LB Guy Liggins, WR 2008 Dwight Lowery, DB
Louie Wright, DB Mike Perez, QB 2009 Jarron Gilbert, DL
1975 Carl Ekern, LB 1991 Sheldon Canley, RB 2012 Duke Ihenacho, DB
Kim Bokamper, DL Lyneil Mayo, LB 2013 Travis Johnson, DL
1976 Wilson Faumuina, DL 1993 Nick Trammer, C 2014 Bené Benwikere, DB
Rick Kane, RB 1994 Jeff Garcia, QB Chandler Jones, WR
2015 Travis Raciti, DL

Year Coach
1956 Bob Bronzan, Associate Coach
1982 Jack Elway, Assistant Coach
1983 Jack Elway, Head Coach
1988 Claude Gilbert, Assistant Coach
1991 Terry Shea, Assistant Coach
1994 John Ralston, Assistant Coach