Crawley Adds Paul Hornung Award Watch List To Preseason Accolades

July 15, 2016

San Jose, Calif. - For the third time in as many days, San José State senior wide receiver Tim Crawley has been recognized among the top college football players in the nation. On Friday morning he was one of 43 football student-athletes named to the Paul Hornung Award watch list after announcements on Wednesday of inclusion on the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List and nomination to the Allstate American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team®.

The essence of the Paul Horning Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, "versatility enabling a player to make an impact at numerous positions on the field," is a perfect definition of Crawley.

A wide receiver, he was the only Spartans to catch a pass in every regular-season game in 2015. In addition, the native of Santa Clara ranked third on the team in pass receiving, with personal single-season bests of 39 receptions, while scoring five touchdowns. He had four rushing attempts, which included a touchdown run, returned a punt and a kickoff as well as attempted a pass.

The Paul Hornung Award

The Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) gives the Paul Hornung Award annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The Award was created by the LSC in January 2010 with the support of the Golden Boy himself, Paul Hornung, a native and lifelong resident of Louisville and member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.



Many consider Hornung the most versatile player in the history of college and pro football. He won the 1956 Heisman Trophy at quarterback for Notre Dame and was the number one pick in the 1957 NFL draft. He played every position in the backfield during his career with the Irish, where he also punted, kicked, returned kicks and played defensive back. While in the NFL, Hornung was a multi-threat offensive back and prolific kicker. He was a member of four NFL championship teams as an all-pro halfback for the Green Bay Packers and led the NFL in scoring 1959-60-61, set the single season scoring record in 1960 with 176 points and was named League MVP following the 1961 season.

A panel of college football experts creates a Watch List of approximately 50 players. Additionally, Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) staff and outside experts select and recognize outstanding performers each week during the course of the season.

After Week 12 of the regular season, a panel creates a candidate list of approximately 10-15 players based on performance during the season. The Paul Hornung Award Selection Committee chooses the finalists and ultimately the winner from the candidate list in the following order:

July 15 - Publication of the official Watch List

November 13 - Final list of candidates to Paul Hornung Award Selection Committee

November 17 - Finalists announced

December 7 - Winner announced