Former San Jose State Coaches On National Football Foundation Hall Of Fame Ballot

June 4, 2018

Irving, Texas ----- Former San Jose State football coaches Darryl Rogers and Dennis Erickson are two of the six Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches listed on the National Football Foundation's (NFF) 2019 Hall of Fame ballot.

For a head coach to be nominated for the Hall of Fame ballot, the coach must have a minimum of 10 seasons and 100 games with a winning percentage of .600 or higher.

Rogers was San Jose State's head coach during the 1973 through 1975 seasons and compiled a record of 22-9-3. He was the first Spartan head coach to lead the team to at least three consecutive winning seasons since Bill Hubbard coached San Jose State from 1946 through 1949.

Rogers came to the Spartans after one season at Cal State East Bay (then Hayward State) and seven seasons at Fresno State. He went to coach four seasons at Michigan State and five at Arizona State before taking the head coaching job with the Detroit Lions. At the college level, his teams had a 129-84-7 win-loss record and a .602 winning percentage. He was the 1975 Pacific Coast Athletic Association Coach of the Year, the 1977 Big Ten Coach of the Year and the 1978 Sporting News' National Coach of the Year.

Erickson was San Jose State's offensive coordinator during the 1979 through 1981 seasons when Jack Elway was the head coach. Erickson then began a head coaching career that included college stops at Idaho, Wyoming, Washington State, Miami (Fla.), Oregon State and Arizona State. He is the only Miami (Fla.) coach to lead the school to two national championships and is the first coach to Pac-12 Coach of the Year honors at three different schools. Erickson compiled a win-loss head coaching record of 179-96-1 at the college level.



More than 12,000 NFF and College Football Hall of Fame members have an opportunity to vote for as many as 12 players and two coaches from Football Bowl Subdivision. There are 214 coaches enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame. Among those with San Jose State ties are Fielding Yost, who coached the Spartans for one game in 1900; "Pop" Warner, the Spartans' advisory coach in 1939 and 1940; one-time San Jose State student Terry Donahue who went on to a successful coaching career with UCLA; and John Ralston, the Spartans head coach during the 1993 through 1996 seasons.

The 2019 class will be announced Monday, January 7, 2019, the day of the College Football Playoff National Championship game at Levi's Stadium and officially inducted during the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, 2019, at the New York Hilton Midtown. They will also be honored at their respective schools with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the 2019 season.