LB Vince Buhagiar Named To National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society

Vince Buhagiar is seventh on the San Jose State list for tackles in a career.
April 29, 2015

Irving, Texas----- San José State University linebacker Vince Buhagiar is one of 817 seniors from the 2014 season to be awarded membership into the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Football Hall of Fame's Hampshire Honor Society.

The Society admits college football players who maintained a cumulative 3.20 or better grade-point average throughout their college career, was a starter or significant contributor in one's final year of athletics eligibility and met all NCAA requirements towards one's degree requirements.

A 2013 graduate majoring in psychology, Buhagiar completed his college football career last season as a four-year starting linebacker. He shared the 2014 team lead with a personal single-season best 96 tackles. In his four active seasons, he started 41 out of 50 games, was a 2010 third-team Freshman All-America selection, a 2012 first-team All-Western Athletic Conference choice and finished seventh on the San José State list for career tackles with 324.

During the 2014 season, the Concord, Calif., resident was one of 167 semifinalists for the NFF's Campbell Trophy recognizing college football's premier student-athlete. A four-time academic all-conference award winner, Buhagiar is pursuing a master's degree in psychology from San José State.

"We continue to raise the bar each year for the number of student-athletes who qualify for membership in the Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hampshire Honor Society plays an important role in highlighting that college football players clearly play a leadership role in the classroom as well as on the playing field. We congratulate each of these young men for their commitment to excellence."

For the third year in a row in the nine-year history of the awards program, a San Jose State football senior was honored. Offensive linemen Nicholas Kaspar and Jon Meyer were awarded membership in 2014 and in 2013, defensive end Travis Johnson.