Two San Jose State Football Road Games Moved To Friday On ESPN2

Linebacker Christian Tago will be among the Spartans' 17 returning starters in 2016.
April 25, 2016

Colorado Springs, Colo.----- San Jose State University's football games at San Diego State and Boise State will be moved to a Friday night for ESPN2 national telecasts as part of the Mountain West's television package.

The San Diego State game in San Diego now will be played on Friday, October 21. Broadcast time will be 7:30 p.m. (PDT).

The Boise State game in Boise now will be played on Friday, November 4. Broadcast time will be 8:15 p.m. (MDT)/7:15 p.m. (PDT). The Spartans will be returning to Boise for the first time since 2009.

The San Diego State and Boise State conference road games are two of the first 10 contests assigned by the Mountain West for coverage by the CBS Sports Network, the ESPN family of networks, ROOT Sports and the Mountain West Digital Network powered by Campus Insiders. At least 44 games will be assigned to one of these networks when the conference television package is complete.

The last time two San Jose State games in a season were shown on ESPN2 was in 2014 when the Spartans played at Auburn and at Utah State.

2016 San Jose State University Football Schedule

Day Date Opponent Location Time
Sat. Sept. 3 @Tulsa Tulsa, Okla.
SAT. SEPT. 10 PORTLAND STATE (Hall of Fame Weekend) SPARTAN STADIUM
SAT. SEPT. 17 UTAH  SPARTAN STADIUM
Sat. Sept. 24 @Iowa State Ames, Iowa
Sat. Oct. 1 @New Mexico Albuquerque, N.M.
SAT. OCT. 8 *HAWAI'I (Homecoming) SPARTAN STADIUM
SAT. OCT. 15 *NEVADA SPARTAN STADIUM
Fri. Oct. 21 *@San Diego State (ESPN2) San Diego, Calif. 7:30 p.m. (PT)
SAT. OCT. 29 *UNLV SPARTAN STADIUM
Fri. Nov. 4  *@Boise State (ESPN2) Boise, Idaho 8:15 p.m. (MT)
Sat. Nov. 12 BYE
SAT. NOV. 19 *AIR FORCE SPARTAN STADIUM
Sat. Nov. 26 *@Fresno State Fresno, Calif.
Sat. Dec. 3 Mountain West Championship TBA
* - Mountain West game