Crawley & Amann Named To NFF's Hampshire Honor Society

April 5, 2017

Irving, Texas ------ Wide receiver Tim Crawley and linebacker/long snapper Mark Amann are the latest San Jose State University football players named to the National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society.

Crawley and Amann are among the 1,089 college football seniors from 297 NCAA Division I, II, III and NAIA institutions to be recognized for academic excellence, on-the-field contributions and pursuit of a college degree.

Hampshire Honor Society members are starters or key contributors to their teams during their final year of college eligibility, meet all requirements progressing towards a bachelor's degree and have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.20 on a 4.00 scale.

Crawley was one of the 12 finalists for the 2016 William V. Campbell Trophy awarded annually to the nation's top football scholar-athlete. A 2016 team captain, he played a variety of positions, but was mainly used as a wide receiver. He finished his four seasons fifth on the San Jose State career receiving list with 151 receptions. Crawley graduated in May 2016 magna cum laude majoring in business management information systems.

During the 2016 season, Amann was the team's long snapper in punting situations and a reserve linebacker. The Spartans averaged 43.6 yards a punt. Amann started two games at a linebacker position and finished the season with 35 tackles. Like Crawley, the business administration major was named to the 2016 Mountain West All-Academic team for football.



The Hampshire Honor Society now consists of 11 San Jose State football players starting with defensive end Travis Johnson in 2013, offensive linemen Nicholas Kaspar and Jon Meyer in 2014, linebacker Vince Buhagiar in 2015 and offensive lineman Wes Schweitzer in 2016.