Spring Football Practice Starts March 10

Feb. 22, 2017

San Jose State University football coach Brent Brennan begins his first spring practice as the head coach, Friday, March 10, in a 6:00 p.m. practice session in CEFCU Stadium.

The Spartans have 15 practices scheduled to run through Saturday, April 15, when the team has its annual Spring Game starting at 12:30 p.m. There are no practices scheduled during the University's spring break, March 27-31.

Scrimmages are scheduled for Saturday, March 18, and Saturday, April 8 on the team's practice field.

Brennan and the coaching staff have 35 returning letterwinners, 17 redshirts and four 2017 mid-year signees among 68 players on the squad. To bolster the spring roster, the Spartans will conduct a one-day tryout for interested full-time enrolled San Jose State students on March 8.

Interested full-time San Jose State students must have proof of enrollment, evidence of a recent physical examination and sickle cell testing results for Spartans' director of player personnel Korey Geist (korey.geist@sjsu.edu) by March 7 at 9:00 a.m. (PT). The on-field tryout will be on March 8 starting at 9:00 a.m.

Besides the 15 practice dates, the Spartans will host a coaches clinic, Friday, April 7, from 6:00 -- 9:00 p.m. and an April 15 youth camp. Cost to attend the clinic conducted by the San Jose State staff is $10.00. To participate, contact Ben Thienes (ben.thienes@sjsu.edu), director of football operations.


 

 

The youth camp is targeting first through eighth grade students. There is no charge to attend the April 15 youth clinic that will begin at 10:30 a.m. in CEFCU Stadium.

Day, Date Activity Time
Tuesday, March 7 Walk-on tryout applications Due by 9:00 a.m.
Wednesday, March 8 Walk-on tryouts 9:00 a.m.
Friday, March 10 Practice #1
6:00 - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, March 11 Practice #2
11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 14 Practice #3
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday, March 14 Pro Day 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 16 Practice #4
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Saturday, March 18 Practice #5/scrimmage 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 21 Practice #6
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Thursday, March 23 Practice #7
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Friday, March 24 Practice #8
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday, April 4 Practice #9
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Thursday, April 6 Practice #10
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Friday, April 7 Coaches Clinic 6:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 8 Practice #11/scrimmage 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Tuesday, April 11 Practice #12
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Thursday, April 13 Practice #13
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Friday, April 14 Practice #14
9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Friday, April 14 Spartan Social for football alums 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 15 Youth Clinic 10:30 - 11:30 a.m.
Saturday, April 15 Spring Game (Practice #15)
12:30 p.m.
Schedule subject to change