David Fales Invited To Quicken All-Star Football Challenge

David Fales won the Elite 11 Challenge last summer in Oregon. (Photo courtesy of USA Today Images)

Jan. 26, 2014

Chicago, Ill.----- Following a strong performance at the 2014 Senior Bowl All-Star Game in Mobile, Ala., San Jose State University quarterback David Faleswill be one of three signal callers competing in the 16th Quicken Loans All-Star Football Challenge.

Produced by Intersport, Fales is entered in the Quarterback Accuracy competition with Clemson's Taj Boyd and Logan Thomas of Virginia Tech. All three quarterbacks were at the Senior Bowl.

Fales completed 6-of-7 passes with an interception for 104 yards and a touchdown for the winning South team. Boyd was 7-of-16 with an interception for 31 yards and Thomas was 4-of-5 for 17 yards for the North team that scored its only touchdown on a 1-yard fourth quarter run.

ESPN2 will televise the event from AT&T Stadium, home of the Dallas Cowboys, in Arlington, Texas, on a tape-delayed basis. First airing is Tuesday, January 28 at 6:00 p.m. (PT)/9:00 p.m. (ET). Replays on ESPN2 are scheduled for:

February 2, 11:00 a.m. (PT)/12:00 p.m. (MT)/2:00 p.m. (ET) and April 27, 1:00 p.m. (PT)/2:00 p.m. (MT)/4:00 p.m. (ET).

Thirteen more players will compete in four other challenges - Obstacle Course, Hands Competition, Lineman Strength Challenge and Speed Kick. The Spartan quarterback is the only Mountain West Conference player participating.

Fales was one of four San Jose State players to participate in 2014 all-star football games. Wide receiver Chandler Jones and defensive back Bené Benwikere played in the January 18 East-West Shrine Game. Linebacker Keith Smithplayed in the January 11 Medal of Honor Bowl game in Charleston, S.C.

Jones caught seven passes for 72 yards with one of receptions along the sideline earning #4 on ESPN's Top-10 Plays of the Day.