Jones & Benwikere At East-West Shrine Game

Chandler Jones will be wearing #89 for the West team in the East-West Shrine Game.

Jan. 14, 2014

Whether it is college or professional football, there will be San Jose State University connections on Saturday, January 18 and Sunday, January 19.

Wide receiver Chandler Jones and defensive back Bené Benwikere get the action started in the East-West Shrine All-Star Game in St. Petersburg, Fla.

The 89th edition of the longest running college all-star football game is Saturday, January 18, at Tropicana Field. Game time is 1:00 p.m. (PT)/4:00 p.m. (ET). The NFL Network will televise the game.

Former Kansas City Chiefs head coach Romeo Crennel will be the West team head coach for which Jones and Benwikere are playing.

The National Football League's NFLPA Collegiate Bowl also is on January 18. ESPN2 has live game coverage beginning at 3:00 p.m. (PT)/6:00 p.m. (ET).

San Jose State football legend Dick Vermeil and Terry Shea, the Spartans head coach during the 1990 and 1991 seasons, will be coaching the National All-Stars. Vermeil will be the head coach for the National team for the third year in a row.

Denver Broncos starting strong safety Duke Ihenacho, a three-time first-team All-Western Athletic Conference during his San Jose State career, is bidding for his first trip to a Super Bowl, Sunday, January 19 when the Broncos host the New England Patriots in the NFL's AFC Championship Game. Start time is 9:00 a.m. (PT)/Noon (ET) on CBS.

The second-year defensive back was third on the team in total tackles with 73 and in solo stops with 56 during the regular season. Ihenacho was one of three Denver defenders to force a team-high three fumbles in 2013.

The action closes with the NFC Championship Game matching the Seattle Seahawks and the San Francisco 49ers. Heath Farwell, who was San Jose State's 2000 Freshman of the Year, is one of the Seahawks' top special teams players. Game time is 3:30 p.m. (PT)/6:30 p.m. (ET) on FOX.

 

 

Then, to wrap up the NFL's weekend of championship football, look for former San Jose State quarterback Jeff Garcia to offer his analysis on the NFL Network's Gameday Overtime and Gameday Final.

Year-round, there always is San Jose State football. It won't be long before the 2014 season is upon us.