Clarke Is All-Mountain West First Team & All-Defensive Choice

March 7, 2017

Mountain West Release

Las Vegas, Nev. --- San José State forward Brandon Clarke is an All-Mountain West First Team honoree and an All-Defensive Team choice by the league's head coaches. The conference made the announcement Tuesday morning on the eve of the men's Mountain West Championship Tournament.

The Phoenix, Ariz., native was the only player in the Mountain West to finish top-three in scoring, rebounding and blocked shots during league play. He averaged 19.3 points per game and was the league's most efficient shooter at 61.6 percent.

Clarke scored 20 or more points in nine Mountain West games and was the league's leading scorer for nearly three weeks during the season. But it all starts on defense for the Desert Vista High School graduate who led the conference with 2.8 blocks per game and grabbed 9.2 rebounds per game, good for third among all players.

He is the new SJSU single-season blocks record holder with 75 and counting as the Spartans open up the first round of the tournament against Utah State one Wednesday, March 8, at 11:00 a.m. (PT). Clarke was also second on the Spartans with 33 steals.

Clarke joins exclusive company as a San José State player to earn first-team all-conference honors. Adrian Oliver was a first-team All-WAC player in back-to-back years from 2009-11, and before him was two-time honoree Olivier Saint-Jean in 1995-97. Clarke is the 16th player in SJSU program history to earn a first-team all-conference award.



He joins extremely rare Spartan company as an All-Defensive Team choice, becoming just the fourth such honoree. Justin Graham, the all-time steals leader at SJSU, was a WAC All-Defensive Team choice in 2011. Brandon Hawkins in 2003 and R.J. Powell in 1999 and 2000 are the only other Spartans to earn conference all-defensive team nods.

Watch Clarke and the #9-Spartans take on #8-Utah State in the opening round of the MW Tournament Wednesday on the Mountain West Network. Tipoff is set for 11:00 a.m. (PT) at the Thomas & Mack Center.

2016-17 All-Mountain West Men's Basketball Team


First Team

Brandon Clarke, So., F, San José State

Gian Clavell, Sr., G, Colorado State

Chandler Hutchison, Jr­­­­­., G, Boise State

Marcus Marshall, Sr., G, Nevada

Emmanuel Omogbo, Sr., F, Colorado State


Second Team

*Elijah Brown, Jr., G, New Mexico

Jordan Caroline, So., G/F, Nevada

D.J. Fenner, Sr., G, Nevada

*Jalen Moore, Sr., W, Utah State

*Cameron Oliver, So., F, Nevada


Third Team

Justin James, So., G, Wyoming

*Trey Kell, Jr., G, San Diego State

Jovan Mooring, Jr., G, UNLV

Deshon Taylor, RS-So., G, Fresno State

*Tim Williams, Sr., F, New Mexico


Honorable Mention

Paris Austin, So., G, Boise State

Hayden Dalton, Jr., F, Wyoming

*Hayden Graham, Sr., F, Air Force

*Jeremy Hemsley, So., G, San Diego State

Koby McEwen, Fr., G, Utah State


Defensive Team

Dakarai Allen,   Sr., G, San Diego State

Brandon Clarke, So., F, San José State

Gian Clavell, Sr., G, Colorado State

Jaron Hopkins, RS-Jr., G, Fresno State

Cameron Oliver, So., F, Nevada

Emmanuel Omogbo, Sr., F, Colorado State


Player of the Year: Gian Clavell, Sr., G, Colorado State

Defensive Player of the Year: Dakarai Allen, Sr., G, San Diego State

Freshman of the Year: Koby McEwen, G, Utah State

Newcomer of the Year: Marcus Marshall, Sr., G, Nevada

Sixth Man of the Year: Justin James, So., G, Wyoming

Coach of the Year: Larry Eustachy, Colorado State