Baseball Gets Three All-WAC Selections

Senior right-hander Kyle Hassna, junior first baseman Matt Carroll and sophomore outfielder Andre Mercurio received All-WAC honors at the pre-championship banquet held May 21.

All three Spartans are second-team selections and it is the first All-WAC honor for each player.

Hassna, from Tracy, Calif., carried one of the lowest ERAs among WAC pitchers for most of the 2013 season. Through the end of March Hassna threw 30.2 innings over 18 appearances and had an ERA of 0.88. The transfer from San Joaquin Delta College led San Jose State with 47 strikeouts in 2013 and opponents hit .237 against him. Hassna finished the year 3-5 with a 2.50 ERA.

Standing 6-foot-6 inches tall, first baseman Matt Carroll led San Jose State in batting average (.333), slugging (.433), RBI (40) and doubles (14). The native of Gilroy, Calif., had the 12th best batting average in the WAC. He finished among the top-10 league RBI leaders during WAC competition with 26. The graduate of Valley Christian High School hit his first home run as a Spartan in the bottom of the 11th inning on March 15 for a walk-off 3-2 win against Nicholls State.

A Serra High School product, Mercurio started 54 games in center field during 2013 for SJSU. He batted .326 and finished tied for fifth among all WAC hitters with 224 at-bats. The San Mateo, Calif. native hit .362 during WAC competition, good for eighth among the league’s top individuals. He led SJSU with 73 hits and a .387 on-base percentage in 2013. Murcurio was not only a threat at the plate, but he finished with 189 putouts in center and a .995 fielding percentage.

# 8-seeded San Jose State begins its 2013 WAC Tournament action on Wednesday, May 22 against #1-seeded CSU Bakersfield. First pitch from QuikTrip Park in Grand Prairie, Texas is scheduled for 3:00 p.m. CST. Live streaming is available through and live stats can be found at

Tyler Shryock, Jr., INF, CSU Bakersfield
Robert Lecount, Sr., INF, New Mexico State
Oscar Sanay, Jr., INF, CSU Bakersfield
Duncan McAlpine, Sr., INF, Dallas Baptist
RJ Perucki, Jr., INF, UTSA
Nate Roberts, Sr., INF, Seattle U
Tanner Rust, Jr., INF, New Mexico State
Cody Lovejoy, So., OF, Texas State
Cael Brockmeyer, Jr., C, CSU Bakersfield
Michael Miller, Jr., C, Dallas Baptist
Chris Lewis, Fr., DH, Sacramento State
Matt Shortall, Jr., DH, UT Arlington
Scott Brattvet, Sr., P, CSU Bakersfield
Brennan Leitao, So., P, Sacramento State
Phil Maton, So., P, Louisiana Tech
Jeff McKenzie, Sr., P, CSU Bakersfield
Sutter McLoughlin, Fr., P, Sacramento State
Michael Smith, Sr., P, Dallas Baptist

Mylz Jones, Fr., INF, CSU Bakersfield
Andrew Ayers, Sr., INF, Sacramento State
Garrett Mattlage, So., INF, Texas State
Matt Carroll, Jr., INF, San Jose State
Austin Listi, Fr., INF, Dallas Baptist
Ronnie Mitchell, Sr., OF, Dallas Baptist
Michael Medina, Jr., OF, New Mexico State
Kevin Sah, Sr., OF, Texas State
Andre Mercurio, So., OF, San Jose State
Daniel Rockett, Sr., OF, UTSA
Riley Good, Jr., OF, UTSA
Greg McCall, Jr., C, UT Arlington
Brock Hartson, Fr., P, UTSA
Kyle Hassna, Sr., P, San Jose State
Lucas Humpal, Fr., P, Texas State
Hunter Lemke, Jr., P, Texas State
Evan Mott, Sr., P, New Mexico State
Brad Vachon, Jr., P, UT Arlington
Player of the Year: Tyler Shryock, Jr., CSU Bakersfield
Pitcher of the Year: Jeff McKenzie, Sr., CSU Bakersield
Freshman of the Year: Chris Lewis, Fr., DH, Sacramento State
Coach of the Year: Bill Kernen, CSU Bakersfield